Beware of this Chinese Domain Name Sales scam
The creativity of scammers and spammers never ceases to amaze me.
If you get an email headed something like:
URGENT-dispute of Domain name and Internet Brand/China
I’d recommend that you just ignore it.
This conpany (whose message appears below) is using fear tactics on domain name owners to get them to register uneccessary domain names in China – probably for a huge fee.
If you do intend to trade there and need a Chinese domain name, buy it through a reputable seller – not this conpany.
I’m 99.9999999999999% certain that there’s no Bongu Invest Ltd. But if they do exist, and want those names – they can have them.
Regards, Eric G.
URGENT-dispute of Domain name and Internet Brand/China
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in China. We have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application.
One company which called "Bongu Invest ltd." are applying to register "webangels" as internet brand and CN domain names:
webangels.asia
webangels.cc
webangels.com.cn
webangels.com.hk
webangels.com.tw
webangels.tw
webangels.hk
webangels.net.cn
webangels.org.cn
on November17. 2008. After our initial examination, we found that the Internet Brand applied for registration are as same as your company’s name and trademark.
These days we will deal with it,hope to get the affirmation from your company.If your company has not authorized the aforesaid company to register these,
Please contact us as soon as possible.In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is 7 days.
If your company files no dissent within the time limit,we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "Bongu Invest ltd.".
Thanks for your cooperation.
Best Regards,
Zea Huang
Senior consultant
Tel: +86-21-59148338
Fax: +86-21-59114516
Web: www.xud-china.org.cn
Address:9-102,No.460,Lintan Road,Jiading District,Shanghai,China
======================================
So – If you get something like this – I suggest you ignore it.
Regards, Eric G.

Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.
Allen Taylor
Hi,
I received a similar email a few days ago. It only differs slightly from the text you have posted.
Thank you for sharing this info with everybody!
What company is the best Domain Registrar? i’ve heard that Godaddy and Moniker are the best.;’`
i always buy domain names at Godaddy or Moniker because they are the most reliable registrars“-
I would never use the big daddy, because I have a problem with their business practices.
So do many other people. See http://www.nodaddy.com
I’ve never used Moniker, but can recommend http://www.namecheap.com
regards, Eric G.
I have used Melbourne IT but next time I will shop around more,,, I think I paid too much. Podiatrists Brisbane
Melbourne IT are the least economic of the Aus providers in my experience. Shop around is a good idea. John